Aly Massof defends dissertation

August 16, 2018
Picture of Aly's Dissertation Committee

Congratulations to Dr. Aly Massof, who yesterday defended her dissertation, “The Demands of Partnership: A Normative Foundation for Shared Medical Decision-Making”!

Welcome to the New Graduate Students!

August 7, 2018
Picture of University Hall

The Philosophy Department is pleased to welcome five new students to the graduate program.  Pranav Ambardekar, Zoe Ashton, Seongyeon Kim, William Marsolek, and Yonghao Abe Wang have a variety of philosophical interests and ambitions.  Read more about their backgrounds and future pl

Hope Sample defends dissertation

June 15, 2018
picture of hope sample

On June 5th, 2018, Hope Sample successfully defended her dissertation “Change in Kant.” Congrats, Dr. Sample!

The dissertation committee consisted of Lisa Shabel (advisor), Clinton Tolley, Tamar Rudavsky, Lisa Downing, and Julia Jorati. 

Juan Garcia defends dissertation

June 7, 2018
Picture of Juan Garcia Defense Committee

On June 6th, 2018 Juan Garcia successfully defended his dissertation "Leibniz on Contingency and Freedom: A Molinism Friendly Account.” Congrats, Dr. Garcia!

The dissertation committee consisted of Tamar Rudavsky, Julia Jorati, Lisa Downing, and William Taschek. 

2018 Fink Award

April 23, 2018

This year’s Fink Award for best graduate student paper goes to Giorgio Sbardolini for his paper “Prior and Benacerraf.”  The paper explores the metasemantic implications of Prior’s discussion of intensional paradoxes, implications that are related to the epistemic challenges Benacerraf raise

Bingham Award and Spring Celebration

April 19, 2018

On April 16th, the department gathered to celebrate this year’s winner of the Bingham Award and our graduating seniors. This year's Bingham medal was awarded to Garrett Patterson, who presented his excellent essay "Avoiding a Collective Action Objection to Norm-Expressivism” at the ceremony.