Wm. H. Fink Information page

William H. Fink Award

Each year the Department holds a competition for the William H. Fink award, which carries a cash prize (currently $1,000). The prize is awarded in recognition of an outstanding graduate student essay in philosophy.Papers submitted for the Fink competition are expected to be presentations of original, sustained philosophical arguments—or original, insightful criticisms of published material. The papers should exhibit the philosophical quality and polish in execution one finds in credible submissions to good philosophy journals. Awards need not be made every year.

The deadline for submissions for the Fink award this year is Monday, April 2, 2018 at noon.Questions regarding the competition should be addressed to Abe Roth.  

More information about William H. Fink.

Fink Award Winners
YearFink WinnerPaper Title

Giorgio Sbardolini
Honorable Mention: Jamie Fritz &
Evan Thomas

“Prior and Benacerraf”
“Pragmatic Encroachment and Moral Encroachment”
“Descartes on the Animal Within, and the Animals Without"

2016-2017Evan Woods
Honorable Mention: Jerilyn Tinio
"Simple Constitution and the Explanatory Ambitions of Constitution Theory"
"The Mind’s Figurative Force: On the Compatibility of Mind-Body Interaction and Descartes’s Principle of the Conservation of Motion"
2015-2016Jeremy Weiss
Honorable Mention: Andrew Kissel
"Affect, Love and Importance"
"Debunking Free Will Belief Debunkers"
2014-2015John Hurst
Honorable Mention: Juan Garcia
"An Epistemic Constraint on Intention: Null Hypothesis or Genuinely Binding?"
"Kant's Schematism, Paul Guyer and the Empirical Constraint"
2013-2014Owen King
Honorable Mention: Scott Brown
"Well-being and Life Improvement, Ceteris Paribus"
"Problems for Instantiation as Identity"
2012-2013Kate McFarland
Honorable Mention: Keren Wilson
"De-Semanticizing the Dispute about Disputes of Taste"
"Aristotle on Continuity"
2011-2012Daniel Pearlberg
Eric Snyder
"Modifying the Interventionist Solution to the Problem of Causal Exclusion "
"Gradability and Vagueness"
2010-2011No prize awarded 
2009-2010Nathan Smith"Diachronic Agency and Personal Identity"
2008-2009Salvatore Florio
Honorable Mention: Alisa Wandzilak
"Is Two a Plural Property?"
"Why Reason Might Not Require Means-End Coherence"
2007-2008Dai Heide"Kant's 'Rejected' Alternative"
2006-2007Wesley Cray"Modal realism without overlap (and without counterpart theory either)"
2005-2006Adam Podlaskowski"Rule-Following Without Idealization"
2004-2005William Roche"In Defense of Coherentism: Against the Alternative-Systems Objection and the Isolation Objection"
2003-2004Julian Cole"Linguistic Priority, Metaphysical Dependence and Mathematics"
2002-2003Henry Pratt"Categorization and Interpretation of Art: Intentions or Bust!"
2001-2002Nicholaos Jones"Unification as an Epistemic Virtue"
2000-2001Lee Franklin"Philosophical Reflection and Recollection in the Phaedo"
1999-2000Roy Cook"Vagueness and Mathematical Precision"
1998-1999David Eng"Psychological Realism: A Solution to the Generality Problem"
1997-1998David Merli"Noncognitivism and Moral Epistemology"
1996-1997Joseph Salerno"Revising the Logic of Logical Revision"
1995-1996Keith Korcz"Reasons for Which One Believes"
1994-1995David Lightner"Hume on Inconceivability, Impossibility, and Adequate Ideas"
1993-1994Jill Dieterle"Structuralism and Mathematical Realism: Causal Objections to Ontological Realism"
1992-1993G. Michael Watkins"Dispositionalism, Ostension, and Austerity"
1991-1992Laura Keating"Un-Locke-ing Boyle: Boyle on Primary and Secondary Qualities"
1990-1991Norman Mooradian"False Pleasure in the Philebus"
1989-1990Jody Graham"Room Enough for One: A Solution for Color Incompatability"
1988-1989Dirk Baltzly
Barbara Scholz
"Content and Value"
"Semantic Anti-Realism Without Revision"
1987-1988No prize awarded 
1986-1987Mitch Flower"On the Doctrine of Transcendental Idealism and the Distinction Between Appearances and Things in Themselves"
1985-1986Beth Cohen"Vagueness, Realism, and Classical Logic"
1984-1985Erdinc SayanFunctionalism and the Mental"
1983-1984David Drebushenko"Ideal Theories"
1982-1983Martin Rice" Nihil veri simile nisi aliquid certum est"
1981-1982James Rubino
Clyde Kilgore
"Leibniz and Locke on the Attribution of Innate Knowledge"
"Justice in Original Acquisition"
1980-1981Steven Nuttall"Voluntariness: The Rationale of Criminal Responsibility"
1979-1980Michael Costa"Arnauld, Descartes, and Ideas"