Department of Philosophy

Recent News

November 18, 2021

The Ohio State University Department of Philosophy has named its newly renovated seminar room in honor of two pioneering graduates of its PhD program, Dr. Marquis Lafayette Harris and Dr. Charles…

November 5, 2021

Congratulations to Steve Brown on his appointment as Associate Professor of Teaching in the Philosophy Department.  Steve has taught some of our highest enrolling courses while serving…

August 26, 2021

Prof. Piers Turner was featured on the Spectrum News 1 Dear Ohio podcast with anchor Curtis Jackson, discussing ethical issues surrounding COVID vaccines and masks. 

August 22, 2021

The Department of Philosophy at Ohio State affirms its support of the local and global protests against police brutality, systemic racism, and the killing of Black Americans.  We condemn the…

Upcoming Events

December 3, 2021
Details to follow
January 21, 2022
353 University Hall
March 4, 2022
Details to follow
March 25, 2022
Wexner Center Film & Video Theater

People Directory

Marshall  Swain
Emeritus Professor
Professor & Admissions Chair
Eric MacGilvray
Associate Professor, Political Science
Andrew Oldenquist
Emeritus Professor